IT  /   FR  /   DE

FAQ.

Will I receive a receipt for my donation?  

Wikimedia CH is a non-profit association recognised by the tax authorities. Therefore, donations can be deducted from taxes throughout Switzerland. For cost reasons and in compliance with tax regulations, Wikimedia CH automatically issues donation receipts at the beginning of the following year for donations over CHF 200 (total donation amount per year). You can of course request a receipt for donations below this amount, but you can also simply print out the deposit slip and enclose it with your tax return.

How can I hide the donation banners?  

The banner can be closed at any time by clicking on the cross in the upper right corner. The banner is then deactivated for a period of two weeks.

What is the difference between Wikipedia and Wikimedia? 

Wikimedia is the non-profit movement behind the project Wikipedia and runs this project, supports the work of volunteer authors and photographers and simplifies this work through technical development. Wikimedia is an international movement, with the US Wikimedia Foundation (WMF) at its centre. WMF is the operator of Wikipedia and, for example, carries out the international fundraising campaigns. There are also about 40 country representatives of Wikimedia who promote free knowledge locally. Wikipedia is the international project; Wikimedia is the collective term for the organisations behind Wikipedia and its sister projects.

Is anonymous donation possible? 

Yes, it is. But in the "Data" section of our donation form, currently there is no "anonymous" option. If you prefer to make an anonymous donation please contact us directly: info@wikimedia.ch. Please note that we will not be able to issue a tax receipt for anonymous donation.

Why is Wikipedia financed by donations and not by advertising? 

Access to free and unbiased knowledge is more important than ever in today's world of fake news and misleading information. Wikipedia, Switzerland's 5th most visited website, represents a collective resource that belongs to all of us. Donations help us to stay independent, to maintain and further develop the online encyclopedia and our different Wiki projects to promote free knowledge.

How can I order multiple payment slips? 

To order multiple payment slips please write an e-mail to info@wikimedia.ch. We will send them to you. Maybe you should consider to set up recurrent payments with your bank. Therefore please contact your bank.

How can I donate regularly? 

There are several ways to make regular donations: Either you click on "I would like to donate regularly" in the online donation form and select your preferred donation interval, or set up a standing order with your bank. The latter is the simpler option for us. The regular donation can be adjusted or terminated at any time.

Where does my money go? 

Wikimedia CH carries out a variety of programs in collaboration with institutions and other partners. On one hand, we offer basic training in the use, creation and editing of content for Wikipedia and other Wiki-Platforms. On the other, we organize projects and workshops on the topics of life-long learning, working with net-based information, teaching of digital skills as well as online collaboration. Your donation helps us to continue our engagement. Donations which are generated by banner campaigns on Wikipedia go directely to the global wikimedia movement. All other donations will support Wikimedia CH projects.

If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to contact us at info@wikimedia.ch.

IT  /   FR  /   EN

Häufige Fragen.

Erhalte ich eine Spendenbescheinigung für meine Spende?  

Wikimedia CH ist ein von den Steuerämtern anerkannter gemeinnütziger Verein. Deshalb können Spenden in der ganzen Schweiz von den Steuern abgezogen werden. Aus Kostengründen und konform mit den Steuerbestimmungen stellt Wikimedia CH automatisch zu Beginn des Folgejahrs Spendenbescheinigungen für Spenden über CHF 200.- (Gesamtspendebetrag pro Jahr) aus. Für Spenden unter diesem Betrag können Sie natürlich eine Bescheinigung anfordern, Sie können jedoch auch einfach den Einzahlungsbeleg ausdrucken und diesen Ihrer Steuererklärung beilegen.

Wie kann ich die Spendenbanner ausblenden?  

Das Banner kann jederzeit durch Anklicken des Kreuzes in der rechten oberen Ecke geschlossen werden. Das Banner wird dann für zwei Wochen deaktiviert.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Wikipedia und Wikimedia?  

Wikimedia ist die gemeinnützige Bewegung hinter dem Projekt Wikipedia. Sie unterhält Wikipedia, unterstützt die Arbeit der ehrenamtlichen Autorinnen und Autoren und Fotografen und erleichtert diese durch technische Weiterentwicklung. Wikimedia ist eine internationale Bewegung, mit der US-amerikanischen Wikimedia Foundation (WMF) in Zentrum. Die WMF ist die Betreiberin der Wikipedia und führt z.B. die Spendenkampagne international durch. Es gibt des Weiteren ca. 40 Ländervertretungen von Wikimedia, die vor Ort Freies Wissen voranbringen. Wikimedia CH arbeitet projektbezogen, ist als gemeinnützig anerkannt und stellt Zuwendungsbescheinigungen aus. Wikimedia ist der Sammelbegriff für die Organisationen hinter der Wikipedia und ihren Schwesterprojekten.

Ist anonymes Spenden möglich? 

Ja, das ist möglich. Auf unserem Spendenformular gibt es jedoch zurzeit keine Möglichkeit, anonym zu spenden. Falls Sie dieses bevorzugen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte per e-mail an info@wikimedia.ch. Bedenken Sie bitte, dass wir Ihnen im Fall einer anonymen Spende keine Zuwendungsbescheinigung für Ihre Steuererklärung ausstellen können.

Warum finanziert sich Wikipedia durch Spenden und nicht durch Werbung?  

Der Zugang zu freiem und unvoreingenommenen Wissen ist in der heutigen Welt von "Fake news" und irreführenden Informationen entscheidend. Wikipedia und die Schwesterprojekte liefern die Bausteine für eine wissensbasierte und verantwortungsvolle Gesellschaft. Spenden helfen uns, unabhängig zu bleiben, unsere Projekte zu erhalten und zu entwickeln.

Wie bekomme ich mehrere Einzahlungsscheine? 

Um mehrere Einzahlungsscheine zu bestellen, schreiben Sie uns bitte ein E-Mail an info@wikimedia.ch. Wir senden Ihnen dann gern welche zu. Die für uns einfachere Variante sind Spenden per Dauerauftrag.

Wie kann ich regelmässig spenden? 

Es gibt mehrere Möglichkeiten für regelmässige Spenden: Entweder klicken Sie im Online-Spendenformular die Option "Ich möchte regelmässig spenden" an und wählen ihr bevorzugtes Spendenintervall oder Sie richten bei Ihrer Bank einen Dauerauftrag ein. Letzeres ist die für uns einfachere Variante. Die regelmässige Spende kann jederzeit angepasst oder beendet werden.

Wohin fliesst meine Spende? 

Wikimedia CH führt eine Vielzahl von Programmen in Zusammenarbeit mit Institutionen und anderen Partnern durch. Zum einen bieten wir Grundschulungen in der Nutzung, Bearbeitung und Erstellung von Inhalten für Wikipedia und andere Wiki-Plattformen an. Zum anderen sind der Aufbau und die Vermittlung digitaler Fähigkeiten und Fertigkeiten im Umgang mit netzbasierten Informationen, sowie die Online-Zusammenarbeit ein Kernelement unserer Projekte und Workshops. Ihre Spende hilft uns, unser Engagement fortzusetzen. Spenden, die durch Bannerkampagnen auf Wikipedia generiert werden, gehen direkt an die globale Wikimedia-Bewegung. Alle anderen Spenden werden zur Unterstützung von Wikimedia CH-Projekte eingesetzt.

Falls Sie weitere Fragen haben, schreiben Sie uns bitte an info@wikimedia.ch.